null Skip to main content
​Finalists Announced for 2024 Takeaway of the Year in National Fish and Chip Awards

​Finalists Announced for 2024 Takeaway of the Year in National Fish and Chip Awards

Posted by Emily on 7th Dec 2023

The National Fish and Chip Awards have revealed the top ten finalists for the 2024 Takeaway of the Year, showcasing the best in the industry. From an initial pool of 40, these ten outstanding fish and chip shops have been selected for their exceptional industry knowledge, commitment to sustainability, and superior employer practices.

The finalists are now preparing for mystery visits, a critical phase in the judging process.

This year's contenders are:

  • The Fish Works, Largs
  • Yarm Road Fish and Chips, Darlington
  • Lighthouse Fisheries of Flamborough, Bridlington
  • Mister C's, Selby
  • The Fish Bank, Sherburn-in-Elmet
  • Auckley Friery, Doncaster
  • Marina Fish & Chips, Skegness
  • Finney's Fish and Chips, Benllech
  • Ship Deck, Caerphilly
  • Zero Plus Fish & Chips, Cardiff

The award recognises excellence in the fish and chip sector and is sponsored by industry leaders like McWhinneys, Oilchef, Pukka, and others.

Andrew Crook, President of the National Federation of Fish Friers and awards organisers, remarks, "To be awarded Takeaway of the Year status by the fish and chip industry is something that many a chip shop business wants to attain. It's not an easy thing to accomplish, and we're incredibly happy for, and proud of, these ten brilliant finalists who are edging nearer to what will be a truly amazing outcome for one of them."

Seafood from Norway, the principal sponsor, also acknowledges the talent and dedication of the finalists. Victoria Braathen, UK Director of the Norwegian Seafood Council, says, "There's some serious talent in this finalists' lineup for the Takeaway of the Year. We're honoured to support these awards, which highlight the fantastic work behind the scenes to put great fish and chips on people's tables across Britain."

The grand ceremony will be held on 28 February 2024 at the Park Plaza Westminster Bridge in London, where a special guest will announce the winner.

We invite readers to share their thoughts and predictions in the comments below.