​The National Fish and Chip Awards Winners 2023

​The National Fish and Chip Awards Winners 2023

Posted by Emily on 28th Feb 2023

Today in London, the National Fish & Chip Awards unveiled this year's top contenders in an elegant award ceremony. Presented by the National Federation of Fish Friers (NFFF) and graced by comedian and presenter Jason Manford, the event gathered 600 attendees, spanning fish & chip entrepreneurs, key stakeholders, and major sponsors such as Seafood from Norway, supported robustly by the Norwegian Seafood Council (NSC) and JustEat.

Here's the breakdown of the 11 categories and their respective winners and nominees:

Fish & Chip Takeaway of the Year

  1. Whitehead's Fish & Chips, Hornsea
  2. Fish Kitchen 1854, Maesycwmmer
  3. The Fish Works, Largs

Fish & Chip Restaurant of the Year

  1. Fish City, Belfast
  2. Malt and Anchor, Cirencester
  3. Henry's of Hunstanton, Hunstanton

Best Newcomer Award

  • Lighthouse Fisheries of Flamborough, Flamborough

From Field to Frier Award

  • The Real Food Café, Tyndrum

Best Mobile Operator Award

  • Pimp My Fish, Burwell

Staff Training & Development Award

  • The Chesterford Group, Bishop's Stortford

Best Multiple Operator of the Year Award

  • Harlees Fish & Chips

NFFF Quality Accreditation Champion

  • The Fish Works, Largs

Environment & Sustainability Award

  • Fish City, Belfast

Supplier of The Year Award

  • Henry Colbeck Ltd

Outstanding Achievement Award

  • Hugh Lipscombe – The Chesterford Group

Winners are in for a special treat: a unique journey to Norway courtesy of Seafood from Norway, under the aegis of the Norwegian Seafood Council (NSC). They'll embark on a rich, immersive adventure, sailing on one of Norway's frozen-at-sea vessels to delve deep into Norway's premier sustainable fishing and processing units.

Sharing his thoughts on the occasion, NFFF President, Andrew Crook, expressed: "It's heartening to laud our dynamic sector today. The quality of this year's participants was staggering, each demonstrating a profound commitment to delivering our beloved national dish, especially in this challenging year. Kudos to all winners and nominees. I foresee a promising road ahead for all."