​Top 5 Shortlist for Restaurant of the Year 2024

​Top 5 Shortlist for Restaurant of the Year 2024

Posted by Emma on 16th Nov 2023

Being recognised by the fish and chip industry as the Restaurant of the Year will soon become a reality for one UK business, as the five category finalists are named for the 2024 award.

The competition is intense for the five fish and chip restaurants in Norfolk, Somerset, Gloucestershire, Bristol, and Devon. Over recent months, esteemed figures from the fish and chip industry have rigorously assessed these businesses. They've conducted thorough reviews to gauge their industry knowledge, adherence to best practices, and fulfilment of employer responsibilities, among other criteria.

The finalists are:

These establishments eagerly await the outcome to see if they will be the proud winners of the National Fish and Chip Awards' Restaurant of the Year title.

Andrew Crook, President of the National Federation of Fish Friers and awards organiser, remarked, "Congratulations to our five finalists! Restaurant of the Year has once again been a very popular category and it has been a great pleasure to gain a better understanding of each business and learn about the people who serve top-quality meals to happy customers. Their unshakeable dedication to the foodservice industry has seen them reach the final stages and we couldn't be happier for them."

Björgvin Þór Björgvinsson, project manager at Seafood from Iceland, the category award sponsor, praised the finalists' exceptional efforts. "The competitors have thoroughly impressed us all and deserve to be lauded for their contributions to the fish and chip industry. They are at the top of their game and Seafood from Iceland will follow them all closely to see how they continue to push the boundaries of fish and chip excellence going forward."

The next phase of judging involves mystery visits, putting pressure on the finalists to maintain their high standards and customer service, as these aspects will be crucial in determining the winner.

The award ceremony is scheduled for 28 February 2024 at the Park Plaza Westminster Bridge in London, where the winner will be announced.

Who are you rooting for? Let us know in the comments.